Lectureship in Manufacturing Science

Lectureship in Manufacturing

Every other year since 1995, this endowment invites one internationally recognized researcher in the general field of manufacturing science and engineering to the University of Michigan to deliver a distinguished lecture and to interact with graduate students and researchers at the S. M. Wu Manufacturing Research Center.

The Wu Foundation has sponsored the
following Distinguished Lectureships:

  • 1995, Professor Karl J. Astrőm, Lunds Universitet, Lund, Sweden
  • 1997, Professor Gűnter Spur, Technical University of Berlin, Berlin, Germany
  • 1999, Professor Toshio Sata, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
  • 2003, Professor Richard DeVor, The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • 2005, Professor George Tiao, Universitet of Chicago, USA

The Wu Foundation has also co-sponsored the following Distinguished Lectureship with Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China, which is the alma mater of the late Professor Shien-Ming Wu:

  • 2000, Professor Shiv Kapoor, The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • 2001, Professor Yoshiaki Kakino, Kyoto University, Japan
  • 2003, Professor Jun Ni, The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA